Moon Cycles

We give the parts of the moon cycle different names, according to how the moon appears to us. In order of appearance:
  1. New (also called the Dark Moon) - not visible
  2. Waxing Crescent
  3. First Quarter - commonly called a "half moon"
  4. Waxing Gibbous
  5. Full - we can see the entire illuminated portion of the moon
  6. Waning Gibbous
  7. Third Quarter - another "half moon", but the illuminated part is opposite of the First Quarter
  8. Waning Crescent
  9. New - back to the beginning
"God Almighty first planted a garden. And indeed, it is the purest of human pleasures". ~Frances Bacon


Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner